ZoroarkPKMN

Rant (Returning woo!) #9: Video Game Communities

Rate this Entry
I'm back to doing rants. I remember having so much fun writing the old ones, and y'know what, I've got some steam I'd like to blow off. So here we go.

Around late 2014 (so, uh, recently) I made an effort to get into League of Legends. My first MOBA. League of Legends, from a distance, seemed pretty cool. The only downside was having to pay money to unlock characters but hey, whatever. So I download it and play the tutorial. I do it once or twice and say to myself "Okay, I think I'll try a match in the beginner's servers". So I go the beginner's matches and I enter one. Obviously, it's my first MOBA and I'm new, so I'm not good at the game. Duh.
All of a sudden the chat reads "Hey, ZoroarkPKMN, stop being so bad"
I respond with "it's my first game, sorry if I'm holding you back!"
"Just stay at camp, noob"
Whoooooooaaaaaaaaaa. That escalated quickly.
After the match I quit League of Legends. Haven't touched it since.

I had a friend in freshmen year who plays Smite. He offered to teach me, so I agreed. I was playing this snow guy, I don't know his name. But I'm in the center of the map, and I see one player come down. None of my other teammates are around, so I try to use a strong ranged attack on him (also, I have not been hearing any tutorials from my friend, and he was too impatient to let me play the tutorial). All of a sudden, out of nowhere, from around the corner of a building following the opponent were the other two teammates and they naturally wreck me. I didn't see them coming, honest mistake, also I haven't fucking played this game before.
Then I hear from Skype "WHAT ARE YOU FUCKING DOING?! HOW'D YOU LET YOURSELF GET FUCKING ***** LIKE THAT"
I say "Sorry, I didn't see them coming"
"IT'S FUCKING COMMON SENSE YOU IDIOT"
Boop. Skype closed.